Experiencing the Wonder of Music within the Museum Walls

Wednesday, July 25, 2012

Intern Jessica Curtis shares the details of her first Pianoforte Concert – going experience at the Museum (July 22, 2012)
The Pianoforte Series, sponsored by Harry Rowney, features a variety of esteemed pianists playing in the Asheville Art Museum’s galleries. Performing for a second time, Teresa Sumpter was the most recent performing pianist in the Pianoforte Series on Sunday, July 22.
Teresa Sumpter is currently an Assistant Professor of Piano and Coordinator of Keyboard Studies at Mars hill College where she teaches applied piano, group piano, and music theory. She earned a Ph.D. in Music Education with an emphasis in Piano Pedagogy and a Master of Music degree in Piano Performance and Pedagogy from the University of Oklahoma. She also possesses a Bachelor of Music degree in Piano Performance from Ball State University.
The program began with:
Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
            Sonata No. 12 in A-flat minor, Op. 26 (1800-1801)
                        Andante con varianziono
                        Scherzo, allegro molto
                        Maestoso andante, Marcia funebre sulla morte d’ un ereo
After the performance, Sumpter stood to address the audience “from the heart”, thanking them for not only attending the performance, but also addressing her personal intentions in performing for the Museum’s Pianoforte Series.
Sumpter described her passion for music through the medium of piano as, “a love story.”  Addressing the audience, Sumpter stated how she intended to, “share with you my love story, which is today’s recital.” Sumpter spoke of the music within the program to have been simply, “been strung together by sure will.”
Sumpter’s passion for her musical medium illuminated the East Wing as the audience sat in silent reverence at the tones and melodies rising from the keys. Sumpter’s movement with the music brought about a concept of personal meditation and release. Every note corresponded with an emotion. Sumpter would take long breathes between her sets, almost as if she was releasing the mindset of the previous set and preparing for the next.
Next in the composition performed was:
Arnold Schoenberg (1874-1951)
Sechs kleine Klavierstucke, Op. 12 (1911)
Sumpter spoke of this piece as Klavierstucke’s “journey to which all 12 tones are equal.” Despite the opposing perspectives of the some Classicists, Sumpter states that she defines Klavierstucke’s work as that of a Classicist, and remarks that he “uses a broader language to express his musical thought.”
Following Schoenberg was:
Franz Schubert (1797- 1828) Moments musicaux, D 780
            No. 2 Andatino in A-flat Major
            No. 3 Allegretto moderato in F Minor
            No. 4 Moderato in C-sharp Minor
            No 5. Allegro vivace in F Minor
The final piece performed was:
Claude Debussy (1862-1918)
Images, Book I (1905)
            Reflets dans l’eau
Hommage a Rameau
Introducing Teresa Sumpter as the featured artist of the summer Pianoforte recital, Mr. Harry Rowney, a Member of the Asheville Art Museum’s Board of Trustees, and a long-time supporter of the Museum, commented on the transition of location. In the past, the Pianoforte Concert Series has been located in Asheville Art Museum’s Gallery 6. It was Ms. Sumpter’s concert on Sunday, July 22 that was the first to be relocated to the Pop Art Gallery in the new East Wing of the Museum. Mr. Rowney and Nancy Sokolove, Manager of the Museum’s Adult Programs Department, asked the audience to comment on the acoustics and presentations on the new space. After the series, Sokolove noted several audience members’ positive remarks in regards to the larger space and room arrangement, making it easier to see the featured pianist.
Overall, the concert was a success, enjoyed by an audience of more than fifty Museum Members and visitors.  The audience was captured by Sumpter’s passion, and was inspired by the traditional classical music that this Pianoforte Series presented.  
The July 22 recital was the final Pianoforte performance for the summer; however, Pianoforte will return this October with a recital featuring pianist Kimberly Cann. For more information on upcoming events and concerts at Asheville Art Museum, you can visit our website: www.ashevilleart.orgor follow us on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/AshevilleArtMuseum.